Prowling the Airwaves and the Underground for the best in EDM

A Direct Response Daily Beat’s Gianna

I have been a fan and supporter of various small music blogs since I started going out to clubs. One of my favorites specifically being Daily Beat, a Philly-run blog that has begun to beautifully evolve in both content and website construction ever since I began reading it.

That being said, it came with much dismay that I noticed there was an article on how to be ‘classy’ in a club atmosphere. I will openly admit that the ‘club’ (in the sense of models and bottles and VIP velvet) aren’t exactly my turf /stomping ground, but some of the points raised in this piece veered off from well-intentioned into outright rude. In some cases the train of thought derailed entirely and the cabin of unsuspecting readers was thrust into the ugly mouth of same-sex-sexism, or the unrelenting grasp of ‘slut shaming’ perpetrated by women.

Before I dive in further, it should be noted that while some pieces may point a finger and call authors of these “put on some clothes you whore” articles jealous and spiteful, I believe some  (but not all) of the points raised demonstrated that ‘Gianna’ isn’t one of those. To be fair, her suggestion that those that partake in illicit substances regulate themselves is a fair point…in safety (and perhaps class). Similarly, wearing heinous high shoes isn’t for the weak of ankle; I will concede that in that respect miss Gianna has a point: if you can’t walk in it, don’t club in it.

However from these positives I have to look a bit scathingly at the rest of this piece with utter dismay, and in no particular order of abhorrence:

3. It’s Better To Bring Two Girls With You, Preferably Two Who Aren’t Stupid B*tches Or Dramatic

While the actual content of this point is valid (go out with people you can rely on), the way it is delivered is wholly unnecessary. If I went out and something were to happen (for example I get hit by a rogue hand-heart, an unpleasant ex shows up, etc) I’d like to think I’m not being a ‘stupid bitch’. Life does happen, and while I agree that two besties are better than one…they don’t both have to be girls.

5. If Your Job Isn’t Related To Nightlife And You Find You Go Out More Than 3 Times A Week, Get Your Sh*t Together

With all do respect miss Gianna, I do go out 3 days a week sometimes (not always) but I feel that for a 24 year-old female I have my shit quite together. Your concern is charming.

8. If You Feel The Need To Incessantly Hook Up With Someone At The Club, At Least Hide On The Dance Floor

If you feel the need to judge people hooking up, I highly suggest turning your head 45 degrees in a different direction. If either party is not hooking up willing, perhaps instead of throwing shade, see if they are ok. I realize you paid good money to enter this club to enjoy the music and atmosphere all to yourself, but a little common kindness never hurts.

1. Stop Dressing Like This

This is what gets me angry, makes my blood boil, and incites rage: the author instructs her readers to smack the pictured blonde female ‘upside the head’ for her clothing choice. The female pictured is dressed scantily in a bodysuit. I suspect her consent was never asked for, and this picture is being displayed maliciously. Miss Giana continues on:

Yes, you’re going to a club/venue and wearing a sexy outfit is the norm. But oh my god someone please smack this girl upside the head. I am very sick and tired of girls calling guys pigs, because when you make yourself look like a cheap whore, guys will treat you like that. It’s human nature to judge people by their appearance, and as much as that can annoy me, I’ve come to accept it. I want to be treated with respect, so I’m going to respect myself and present myself in a classy way. I think the biggest downfall of our generation, especially females, is this mindset: “Times have changed. Women have gotten somewhere in this world and should not have to cover up their bodies. FREE THE NIPPLE (actual movement going on currently).”

I love that you respect yourself and ‘dress in a classy way’ but respect is something you EARN not DRESS FOR. Fair, so most women (presumably you) make the assumption that exposed skin is a sign of ‘trash’ of lesser worth or respect. You are correct, it is human nature to judge people by their appearance, and I personally think the woman whose image you’ve posted (likely without her consent or permission) appears to be confident in what she is wearing.

While I welcome you to pigeon-hole me into the ‘biggest downfall of out generation’ category for my often scant of cloth, I would say that your mindset is what is letting us all down. Openly shaming a girl you don’t know using a picture that you don’t own (and presumably didn’t take) to add a flair of self-importance to an otherwise flimsy meme-filled monologue.

I still love Daily Beat, but this is one piece that will leave quite a bitter taste in my mouth for some time.

-The Hound

3 responses

  1. To be fair, she did say MORE than 3 time a week, and I think she is talking more about alcohol consumption rather than just going. I do agree with you #1 and #3 are excessively judgmental.

    January 31, 2014 at 10:42 am

  2. Intelligent response! I wrote a post about that smae article and also linked to another article that rebuttled Gianna’s called “8 Ways to Avoid Being a Slut-Shaming Hater” if you want to take a look! http://t.co/AYRdIgkHEH

    February 5, 2014 at 8:05 pm

  3. Pingback: What Is Rape Culture? Why You Should Care. | RageHound

Leave a Reply

