Prowling the Airwaves and the Underground for the best in EDM

Generation Wild Recap

So as you may have guessed, Generation Wild lived up to its expectations (I am just now coming back to normalcy..as in today). Between the fire, aerial acrobats, incredible drop of Deniz’s new song Halo, and more bare boobs that most lesbians, I’d say I had a good night. Hi mom.

So um, let’s start from the top shall we?

So to start, I got an awesome new tank from the lovely Koalacore Clothing to wear (came in handy for sure) and prepared for what I thought would be a pretty standard Webster Hall show (if you read my Dillon Francis write up, don’t hate me, but you’ll know what I mean).

2013-02-16_21-17-09_845Nothing really out of the ordinary.

Mikael Weermets was a pretty solid opener. At this point the main floor was still pretty empty, not much of a vibe, and despite dancing with some already sloshed party-goers, it seemed like I was in for a pretty standard ride.

551326_10151438105415606_611524022_n

For all intensive purposes, totally normal. Also thank you Webster Hall for the picture. Its nice to actually find myself at shows.

After this, shit got weird (good weird, but really fucking good weird)

To start, dBerrie completely surprised me with his set: I’ve heard some of his work in passing, but clearly he is one of those ‘go see live, because out of context you aren’t going to get it’ DJs (there are plenty of those, I respect them, some of Dada Life’s stuff can be blah when you aren’t literally feeling bass). Opening with a pretty strong set, amazing visuals, I decided I might as well drop. It was the best goddamn decision I made all night.

2013-02-17_00-22-03_466

Between the number of girls I made out to some solid dBerrie tracks, and the number of ravers that played with my spirithood, the mood pretty much skyrocketed once dBerrie got going. Probably my stupidest decision this year has been ignoring my friend’s pleas to go see him. I’m sorry friends, I owe you bigtime.

Then shit got really weird.

2013-02-17_01-12-53_986

Pretty much, all I have to say is, Deniz Koyu live is like one big orgasm. I’ve been to EZoo, I’ve seen my hands-down favorite trance artist…and I’m a lover of trance…but I couldn’t even handle his entire set. On several occasions I just had to hug random people next to me and have them remind me that this was real life. It was that good.

There were no prissy brats shoving each other to get to the front, no one was recording video on an ipad…for once, I felt almost as if I was transported back to an indoor festival. It was at this point I noticed the tits. For anyone unaware Kirillwashere is infamous for taking pictures of tits; it’s his thing (in addition to more professional artistic stuff). So naturally when I glance over and see bra-less girls making out and wiggling around I had a moment of “Um?” I love making out with ladies and boys, and I’m not impartial…but amid the fire-dancers, silks-dancers (of which I got no photos, sorry) it was a bit odd. And then the champagne facials began.

2013-02-17_03-15-36_93

Call me noob mcnooberson, but the only indication I had that the DJs had swapped set was from a sudden cut to brighter lights, and the appearance of several champagne bottles being unleashed on stage. I mean, I knew it was happening…but I guess when you’re rolling hard, dancing your ass off, and midway through making out with girl #4(?) it kind of takes you off-guard. If you need a refresher course on Kirill, here it is.

By the end of the night, I was skipping around the mainstage area hugging people, trading kandi at lightspeed (accidentally trading 3 no-trades…oops) and cuddling up to several boys that were thankfully my age (amen for black x’s). The rest of the night was spent skipping through New York in booty shorts, cat-calling people in a Starbucks, and waltzing into my shower where I promptly had a beer and passed out.

Wild, Achieved.

At any rate, my only actual ‘goal’ for the night aside from raging like a vicious animal, making out, and being a bass-loving whore (all achieved) was to give Deniz Koyu a kandi I’ve had with me for a while with ‘bongbastic’ on it. Despite failing miserably at that, I did manage to make one for Kirill, and am hoping if  send him his…he will give Deniz the one I strung up for him 🙂

2013-02-21_10-31-33_384

At any rate, this puppy is gonna grab another beer. Nighty night!

❤ Rage

Leave a Reply

